Honey is a great pantry staple and used in a variety of recipes and homeopathic remedies. But is it gluten-free?
Is there gluten in honey?
Honey is a naturally gluten-free food. For those with gluten intolerance, sensitivity, or celiac disease, it should not be a concern for a gluten-free diet.
Individuals with high sensitivity or celiac disease should be aware of some caveats to ensure safety.
Is honey celiac safe?
While honey does not use gluten-containing ingredients, there is a chance of cross-contamination. Cross-contamination can occur if the facility where it is processed also manufactures foods or ingredients that contain gluten.
It is important to do your due diligence when avoiding gluten. There are a few places to check for traces of gluten and safety for eating:
- Nutritional information label - Reading the ingredient list will confirm if there are gluten ingredients.
- Allergen statements - Some nutritional labels may also contain "allergen statements" or "allergen information." This statement will disclose if there is any risk of cross-contamination during the processing of gluten or other allergens.
- Contact the company - Contact the company directly or check the website to confirm how production is conducted at their facility.
In the United States, the "gluten-free label" is a voluntary claim that manufacturers can make as long as they meet all requirements for "gluten-free" food. This claim ensures that the food contains less than 20 ppm.
A "certified gluten-free" label ensures that the manufacturer has followed strict steps to prevent gluten cross-contamination with a dedicated gluten-free facility.
Work with your healthcare provider to determine what is best for you and your dietary needs.
Types of honey
From honeybees first collecting the nectar of flower blossoms to its breakdown into simple sugars in the honeycomb, the resulting wholesome product that remains can be labeled in a variety of ways.
The type of labeling can also be a bit confusing. What is the difference between raw, pure, unfiltered, and organic honey?
Raw - The term raw means that it is in its most natural form and has not been heated for pasteurization or cut with additional ingredients like sugars or corn syrup.
Pure - The pure designation refers to the fact that it has not been cut with added sugar or other ingredients. The "pure" variety is heated for pasteurization and filtered.
Unfiltered - Filtering honey removes small particles. This process requires heating which can destroy some of the natural nutritional benefits. Unfiltered does not necessarily mean raw unless labeled as such.
Organic - The label "organic" means that this kind is produced from plants that are free of pesticides, insecticides, and miticides.
Finding safe suppliers and brands you trust is key. The following brands have a gluten-free label as well as list it on their website. This information is always subject to change, so it is a good idea to check before purchasing.
- Thrive Market Organic Raw Strained Honey
- Sioux Honey
- Greenbow Organic Honey
- Wholesome Organic Raw Unfiltered Honey
- Fischer's Honey 100% Grade A, Raw and Unfiltered Clover Honey
Certified gluten-free honey:
If you frequent farmer's markets, talk to the local beekeepers about their process.
You can find these brands at retailers like Whole Foods, Thrive Market, Walmart, Amazon, your local grocery or health store, or directly from the brand's website.
This sweet liquid or "nectar of the gods" can be used in a variety of applications. From cookies to cocktails, to salad dressings, sauces, and your morning breakfast bowl, honey can sweeten and enhance your favorite recipes.
Flavored honey is not necessarily gluten-free. Since It is a more processed form, there may be added gluten products or ingredients. Check the nutrition label to verify ingredients and possible allergen cross-contamination for the individual food product.
Honey powder in its natural form is gluten-free. Many honey powder products for sale do not contain gluten ingredients but may be processed in a facility that processes gluten-containing foods. Check the nutrition facts to determine if it is right for you and your diet.
Honey in its natural form is lactose-free and does not contain any kind of dairy products.
Gluten-free honey recipes
Please note: Always check labels as some manufacturers Include gluten or dairy, or process In the same facility as wheat. This article is meant to help aid in highlighting gluten-free products but is not an exhaustive list or medical advice. Please consult with your healthcare provider for best practices and care for your individual needs.