Stocking a Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Pantry can be overwhelming. Use this guide and printable gluten-free food list to help fit your needs.
Please note: Always check labels as some manufacturers Include gluten or dairy, or process In the same facility as wheat. This list is meant to help aid in being new to a gluten-free diet, but is by no means an exhaustive list or medical advice. Please consult with your healthcare provider for best practices and care for your individual needs.
If you are new to going gluten-free and dairy-free, it can be a bit overwhelming. I've been there.
Here I've shared gluten-free and dairy-free pantry staples below to help as a guide for you and your family's needs.
Gluten-Free Flours and Starches
There is a wide variety of naturally gluten-free flours that each have their own unique flavors and textures. If you are new to these flours, almond flour and oat flour are great ones to start with.
- Almond flour
- GF Oat flour (In the United States)
- Cassava flour
- Millet flour
- Buckwheat flour
- Quinoa flour
- Coconut flour
- Sorghum flour
- Amaranth flour
- Psyllium husk powder
- Arrowroot starch
- Tapioca starch
- Potato starch
- Gluten-Free Measure for Measure Flour
Like flours, there are a wide variety of gluten-free grains that can enhance breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
- Oats (certified gluten-free labeled in the US)
- Brown rice
- White rice
- Cornmeal & Polenta
Baking Powder and Baking Soda
Most baking soda and baking powders are gluten-free, but be sure to check the labels as not all are.
Our favorite brands: Bob's Red Mill
Oils and Vinegars
These are oils and vinegars I always have on hand for cooking, baking, and sauces, and dressings.
- Olive oil, avocado oil, coconut oil
- Vegan butter
- Olive oil or avocado oil cooking spray - most are gf df, but check label as a few brands use flour.
- Balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar, white vinegar
Our favorite brands: Earth Balance, Chosen Foods
Unrefined sweetener options that I use often for baking, cooking, and making simple syrup!
- Organic cane sugar
- Maple syrup
- Agave Nectar
- Coconut Sugar
Pasta and Rice
Dairy-Free Gluten-Free Pasta
When it comes to pasta, there is quite a variety that is available now without gluten. Most gluten-free packaged pastas do not contain dairy. Stuffed pasta like ravioli or stuffed shells will unless buying a vegan or dairy-free version.
- Brown rice pasta
- White rice pasta
- Chickpea pasta
- Cassava pasta
- Almond flour pasta
- Corn pasta
- Lentil pasta
Our favorite brands: Jovial, Lotus Foods
Bread, Tortillas, and Wraps
Dairy-free Gluten-free Bread
Dairy-free gluten-free bread can be found in the bread aisle and the refrigerated section. Not all gluten-free bread is dairy-free.
Try it: French Toast Casserole
- White bread
- Whole grain bread
- Hamburger and hotdog buns
Our favorite brands: Little Northern Bakehouse (also egg-free) and Canyon Bakehouse.
Dairy-free Gluten-free Tortillas
Taco night, sandwich wraps, and quesadillas can still be yours.
- Corn tortillas
- Wrap tortillas - brown rice tortillas, cassava flour tortillas, sweet potato flatbread
Crackers and Chips
Having allergy-friendly snacks stocked in the pantry is always a good idea!
- Tortilla chips
- Crackers - almond flour crackers, oat crackers, seed crackers, veggie crackers, cassava flour crackers, vegan gf cheese crackers
Sauces and Condiments
Condiments and sauces are often places where gluten sneakily hides.
- Gluten-free soy sauce
- Gluten-free teriyaki sauce
- Dairy-free gluten-free salad dressings
- Gluten-free BBQ sauce
Spices and Seasonings
Singular dried herbs and spices don't often have gluten. But seasoning mixes can occasionally include anti-caking agents that have wheat. Always read the labels before purchasing and avoid spices and herbs from bulk bins.
Canned, Jarred, and Packaged Goods
- Full-fat coconut milk
- Coconut cream
- Vegetable and chicken broth (make sure label says "gluten-free")
- Almond butter
- Peanut butter
- Other nut butters or sunflower seed butter
- Unsweetened applesauce
- Unsweetened cocoa powder
- Beans, lentils, chickpeas
Our favorite brands: Broth - 365 Whole Foods, Pacific Foods; Canned coconut milk and coconut cream: Native Forest, Whole Foods 365 Organic, Trader Joe's
Nuts and Seeds
- Chia seeds
- Sunflower seeds
Wheat is one type of gluten that may be present in food. A wheat-free label does not necessarily mean the item is gluten-free.